Latest Reviews
Rating:  
Candy pink rose petals
Thursday, 14 December 2017  |  Elizabeth

The petals arrived in a glass jar beautifully and securely packaged. They were ordered for a birthday cake decoration. The overall effect was very pretty and they were much admired. I will definitely order again as the services was swift and efficient.


Rating:  
salt of the sea!
Monday, 11 December 2017  |  Tracey

great tang to it, delicious on fish and chips, but equally in sauces or for a twist, in buttery mash! arrived quickly and safely. will be buying more in the future


Rating:  
super salt!
Monday, 11 December 2017  |  Tracey

love sea salt, especially the best, ie from Scotland ! couldn't wait to try this and it doesn't disappoint. got a real depth to it either just sprinkled on food or used in sauces. delicious!! arrived in super quick time and packaged very well. will definitely be back for more


Rating:  
Excellence
Thursday, 7 December 2017  |  Kathleen

The foavouring is the best I have ever found.


Rating:  
Fantastic service
Thursday, 7 December 2017  |  Margaret

The products were exactly as I expected The service was fantastic. I telephoned to place an order but was told it had to be made online I explained that I lived in Cornwall and needed the flowers in two days time. I was told if i placed the order straight away they would process it that day. To my amazement the parcel arrived the next morning . From one end of Scotland to Land's End. Perhaps I should also give Royal Mail five stars on this occasion,however the fact that it did arrive as promised means that Uncle Roy'd did process the order immediately as they had said they would.


Rating:  
Beautiful Colour
Sunday, 3 December 2017  |  Jessie

lovely deep colour - look amazing


Rating:  
Great rose petal flavour
Saturday, 25 November 2017  |  Annie

This is a really great rose petal jam - great flavour - one of the best I have tasted. Only thing I would change if it was possible would be to make it with a bit less sugar?? Don't know if it would work substituting some of the sugar with some apple juice?


Rating:  
Scottish Rowan Jelly - YUM YUM
Saturday, 25 November 2017  |  Allison

This was purchased as Christmas gift. Rowan jelly is a favourite in our house. Roll on Christmas!


Rating:  
Excellence
Friday, 24 November 2017  |  Kathleen

I frequently buy from the UK by post and have never had the most excellent service that I received from yourselves.
Your attitude is absolutely what is needed today and sadly missing in a lot of places.
I will always buy from yourselves from now on.
I have not used the flavouring yet but have used one of the others in my order and find it excellent.


Rating:  
Violet essence
Thursday, 23 November 2017  |  Wendy

Smells wonderful and looking forward to using essence. Great service


Uncle Roy's Blog


25/09/2017

We have some exciting new products coming your way! We also have new labels for the rest of our range coming soon! 

In order to tidy up the website a bit we are moving some of the products around so they are in more appropriate categories, bear with us while we move things around, some things may disappear only to reappear somewhere else. 

If you are having trouble finding your favorite products don't hesitate to give us a call on (UK) 01683 221076 


14/07/2017

Our new premises is now fully SALSA Certified! We have a copy of the certificate available on the website and on request by clicking here


06/07/2017

We have some more amazing new products coming your way!


22/6/2017

We have been busy making all kinds of improvements and changes to our range behind the scenes and now its time to show you some of them!

New Label Flier


15/12/2016

Our move has now happened  and we are getting back to normal - sorry for any slight delays !!!!!!


22/11/2016

Uncle Roy's production is soon moving to bigger premises nearby in Ayr but no other changes apart from some new faces!!


25/08/2016

Our Vanilla Essence is now alcohol-free


18/07/2016

 I COULD NOT RESIST ADDING THIS MESSAGE FROM ONE OF OUR CUSTOMERS

Got visitors? Bought the cheapest bubbly you could find? Poured and tasted it? mmmm a bit flat - no real depth of flavour. Shame!!.... but wait I wonder what it would taste like with a few drops ( That's all you need!) of Uncle Roys Blackberry Essence? Well blow me down with a feather -a sophisticated Adult-only indulgence with an edge on the decadent..........other words bloody good.

Thank you Uncle Roy for throwing the rocks away, ditching the Deli and doing what you were meant to do!!

 From

A very satisfied customer who has to travel to Oban from Muasdale to get your products!

 Now where did I put that cheap vodka..........to be continued!

 

Liz Anderson



15/05/2016

In response to frequent requests we be adding Cashew and Peanut Butter flavours to our wonderful Natural Flavours range (and of course like all the other Natural nut flavours they are NUT-FREE!!)


10-04-16

We are pleased to announce a gorgeouse new variety in our "Eat Me!" Edible Flower Petal range Orange Rose Petals- are now available to adorn cakes, plates and drinks!


17/02/16

Rabbie's Burnie Sauce  - is now available. Made with all sorts of lovely things including, of course, some Scotch Bonnet Chillies as well as some honey, lime and much more


10-02-16

We are pleased to announce that the new MOFFAT TOURIST INFORMATION CENTRE - has now opened complete with a full display of our entire range. Good Luck!!!!!


20/01/2016

With no apologies to Rabbie Burns we have introduced (My Love Is Like a Red) RED ROSE SALT - to join the rest of our so popular Gourmet Salt range.



15/12/2015

In response to frequent requests we have added a WATERMELON ESSENCE to our wonderful Natural Flavours range


10/12/2015

We have a new product - SMALL PINK ROSEBUDS - great for garnishing Celebration Cakes , Desserts or simply on a plate for an exotic touch


01/11/2015

Cherry Essence

Please note that we have introduced a RED CHERRY ESSENCE so now you can choose RED or BLACK CHERRY ESSENCE !!


01/10/2015

Uncleroys.cz

is up and running with great reactions from local Bloggers and Social Media. Uncle Roy admits that Czech is beyond him but Lumir is doing a marvelous job  job expanding our sales in south east Europe. It will be interesting to see whether Mustard Seed Oil is as great a hit in the Czech Republic as it is in Switzerland and Slovenia!


05/09/2015

Sadly - thanks to the poor Summer - the bees have not managed to produce much clear honey - and our stock has run out. . . Heather, Heath & Wildflower and Set Blossom are still available of course!!!

The wonderful dark Spring Honey from the local trees will be available in 2016. Our fingers are firmly crossed !!


31/08/2015

The Olfactory Company have opened a new store in Savannah, Georgia - with another wonderful display of Uncle Roy's.

Hoorah!!


05/08/2015

A big thank-you is due to everyone that has sent in a review!!!

It is two year to the day since we started the new website and we have had 501 reviews!!!!

We are very pleased to work out that 94% of the reviews gave us 5/5 STARS so the average rating is 4.92 stars


04/08/2015

2015 GREAT TASTE AWARD WINNERS !!!

"Oak Smokies" - Mixed Forest mushrooms

"Finest Preserves" - Rose Petal Jam

"Extra Special Condiments" - "The Best" Onion Marmalade

all picked up One Star Great Taste Awards.


31/07/2015

Natural Apricot Essence is the new addition to the Natural Flavours range. Apricot is one of Uncle Roy's favourite fruits so he is not quite sure why it has taken so long to include it!!!


17/07/2015

World Hot Sauce Awards 2015 - We did it again !!!!!

Not content with three awards in 2014

"Chillichup" has been judged WORLD CHAMPION 2015 in the Condiments-Ketchup division!!!!!

AND

"Chocolate Chilli Mustard" collected a Third Place Award in the Condiments-Mustard division!!!


04/05/2015

Great Taste Awards 2015 - our entries have been sent off and our fingers are crossed. Wish us luck!!


04/03/2015

Natural Honey Essence is our latest addition to the Natural Flavours offering. Like the rest of the range it is suitable for vegetarians and vegans. Checkout the notes on the Natural Extracts, Essences and Colours page for full details of what is - and what is not - in them.


18/02/2015

Our latest addition - "The Best" Onion Marmalade is now available in our "Extra Special Condiments" range. It is in 225g jars and is a perfect accompaniment for any cheeses or meats - and it got its name 'cos everyone here says its the best they ever encountered. Unfortunately that means that they are all eating it like mad !!


08/02/2015

THE TRON church is a historic landmark at the centre crossroads of The Royal Mile in Edinburgh and has reopened as an indoor market for Scottish Foods and Crafts. A selection of our products are on offer at "Uncle Roy's @ The Tron"  - come and sample and see.....

SADLY - DUE TO FACTORS BEYOND MY CONTROL WE HAVE DISCONTINUED OUR ASSOCIATION WITH THIS PROJECT


31/12/2014

the lovely Chocaholic Zoe Perrett has included our Chocolate Mustards in her  "Top 10 tastes of 2014"  - read what she has to say at A Year In Chocolate



15/11/2014

In response to requests I have added a "Search" box - let me know what you think. U R.


27/10/2014

Our BLACKCURRANT CURD is now available - and Uncle Roy thinks it is Brilliant!! So that is what he's named it -  BRILLIANT BLACKCURRANT CURD


21/10/2014

NEW! PLUM Essence and COLA Essence - are now available..........


08/10/2014

Speaking of BLACKCURRANT & LIQUORICE - don't forget that our sauce of the same name won a GREAT TASTE AWARD this year!!!!


08/10/2014

WOW! - A sudden surge of orders from all directions for our Natural Liquorice Essence and Natural Black Colouring is thanks to Paul Holywood's latest creation - Blackcurrant & Liquorice Swiss Roll - see   http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/blackcurrant_and_96079

Maybe it would even be better with our new Blackcurrant Curd - arriving soon!!!!


29/09/2014

HOT NEWS!!!         Uncle Roy's Comestible Concoctions was a hit at the

WORLD HOT SAUCE AWARDS 2014 held in Louisiana, USA.

We picked up THREE awards from the home of spicy foods!!!.

CONDIMENTS – Mustard .......................................................CHAMPION      –  Rabbie’s Burnie Mustard  

 

CONDIMENTS – Speciality/Unique.........................................CHAMPION      –  Super Horseradish Sauce  

 

CONDIMENTS – Salad Dressing..............................................SECOND PRIZE – “One & Only Dressing”     

 


18/09/2014

The really tangy "Finest Preserves" - Lime Curd ....has arrived !! - and it has been worth waiting for - WOW!


28/08/2014

"Finest Preserves" - Pineapple Curd ....is back ! - HOORAY!!!


18/08/2014

"Britain's Best" - That's how Cook Vegetarian described our Mild & Mellow Moffat Mustards.


12/08/2014

GREAT TASTE !!! -  We were worried when our curd maker retired but we have trained a new one - and to reassure ourselves submitted two varieties for the Great Taste Awards 2014 - and the GOOD NEWS is

"Finest Preserves" - Lemon Curd

"Finest Preserves" - Pineapple Curd

"Finest Preserves" - Elderberry Jelly

all picked up One Star Great Taste Awards.


05/08/2014

Happy Birthday !!! -  This new style website is a year old today!! - and we are pleased to note that we have received 293 reviews..... with an average of 4.9 stars out of 5. Thank you to everyone for your comments - they help other purchasers, as well as telling us how well we are doing.


29/07/2014

Latest News !!! -  New Essences - the latest additions are Marshmallow and Vanilla Custard - now available. And next week we will be adding Cheese.


25/06/2014

Great News !!! -  CURDS are back !! Following the sudden retirement, on health grounds, of our curd-maker, we ran out of curds - BUT they are back.

Lemon Curd this week.... Passion Fruit next.....


15/05/2014

Very nice; Great notes; Very unique and innovative - loved the heat on the finish. that's how the American Speciality Foods Association - SOFI Awards - judges  described the Chocolate Chilli Mustard !!!


14/04/2014

Original and innovative...staggering flavour.... that's how GFGC Magazine has described the New Oak Smoked Dried Mushrooms


07/04/2014

New New New !!! have you noticed how popular dried mushrooms have become? Its because they impart such wonderful flavour and now we have added a whole range of Oak Smoked Dried Mushrooms that have even more fabulous flavours.


29/03/2014

We have added a lovely rich pink rose petal into the  "Eat Me !" Edible Flower Petal range and we have called it Classic Pink - renaming the original Pink as "Candy Pink" .


27/02/2014

Our sales of Uncle Roy's Old Fashioned Gravy Salts just keep on rising since first Burdalls and now Co-op Gravy Salt disappeared. Don't forget the Reduced Sodium variety for those that want or need to reduce their sodium intake.


07/02/2014

WOW! in the first six months of the new website we have got 200 reviews with an average rating of over 4.9 stars. Thanks to you all for your kind words and helpful comments!!


01/01/2014

HAPPY NEW YEAR ! - Some price increases - sorry but overheads keep increasing - but the good news is that the average is only 3%- and most products are the same (even the odd decrease!)

Happy cooking !!! 


07/12/2013

NEW - NEWS - New flavours being added to the Extracts & Essences in response to demand ....

Champagne, Kirsch, Pecan and Black Grape !!! 


28/11/2013

Damson Jelly is back - crops were much better this year, Hooray !!

Crab Apple Jelly too - a great crop - one of my favourites ! 


1/11/2013 

Great British Food says that our " fabulous edible Hot Pink Edible Rose Petals are perfect for adding a splash of colour to bakes."

Of course they are great to float in wine or champagne for dinner parties too....


24/10/2013

Cook Vegetarian Magazine described our Smokey Scotch Whisky Salt as "fabulous" !!!


23/10/2013

NEW - NEWSAnother Natural Extract added - Jasmine
- as featured in the new book from Primrose Bakery. Get with the fashion!!


25/09/2013

Good Housekeeping Magazine described our Essences & Extracts as "astounding"


12/08/2013

GREAT NEWS - We have been awarded four 2013 Great Taste Awards
Gold Star winners this year are

"Gourmet Salts" - SMOKEY SCOTCH WHISKY SALT

"Gourmet Salts" - SCOTTISH SEAWEED SALT

"Extra Special Condiments" - BLACKCURRANT & LIQUORICE SAUCE

"Finest Preserves" - CRAB APPLE JELLY


05/08/2013

Well here is the updated website at last! Many hours of painstaking input and proof-reading have been expended and I hope that you will find it easy to use and will not be able to find any errors, omissions or spelling mistakes - let me know if you do !

We will be adding new items, as we go along - so keep checking in!

xx - Uncle Roy